12 Apr 2018

Pictured from left to right:
Back row:  Ben Callaway, Jacob Mattingly, Annie Wagner, Kristin Wietecha
Front row:  Lexi Heer & Logan York

With the completion of the 10th year of the Fehribach Award, Greg and I want to share how proud we are of the award recipients from this year and years past. We are grateful to Ball State, the Disability Services office, and Disability Services Director Larry Markle for providing us the opportunity to recognize Ball State students with disabilities who have achieved so much.

Ball State has always been an important piece of our lives. With two sons and a husband who graduated from Ball State, I have enthusiastically adopted the Cardinal lifestyle. These students embody that lifestyle of growing the spark of intellectual curiosity into action and valuing the intrinsic worth of every member of the community. Their engrossed and persistent work in academics, athletics, and extracurricular activities is the first glimpse of their successful futures.

Currently, less than 15% of college graduates with physical disabilities are gainfully employed. By increasing employment opportunities for graduates with disabilities, this number can be improved. Eskenazi Health’s Initiative for Empowerment and Economic Independence (IEEI) has been providing relevant and quality field work, networking, and skill-building opportunities for students with physical disabilities to enable the students to be competitive in the workforce. Greg and I are confident that this year’s Fehribach Award winners are forging their way in the world and will continue to accomplish great things.

Ben Callaway, a Senior Elementary Education/Special Education dual major from Carmel, IN. Ben is a member of the BSU goalball team and a volunteer at thee Owsley Museum of Art. He serves as the secretary and treasurer of the BSU Comic Book Club and was an SGA representation for the Alliance for Disability Awareness.

Lexi Heer is president and captain of the BSU power soccer team and president and treasurer of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. She is a Senior Accounting Major from Fishers, IN. Lexi is a member of Beta Alpha Psi and the Accounting Club, and is interning at Crowe Horwath in Indianapolis.

Jacob Mattingly is the vice president of the Alliance for Disability Awareness. He is a Senior Construction Management major from Monticello, IN and a second degree member of the Freemasons. Jacob is a member of the National Society for Leadership and Success.

Annie Wagner is a junior and the marketing director on the executive board of the Student Council for Exceptional Children. She is also a member of the Autism Support Group, Chi Omega Fraternity, College Mentors for Kids, and Riley Dance Marathon. Annie is a dual Elementary Education/Special Education major from Indianapolis.  Annie was chose out of 360 students as the Special Education Freshman for Best Buddies. She also works as a Fitness Mentor at the Erskine Green Training Institute.

Kristin Wietecha is a former intern for Eskenazi Health. She is a member of the Honors College and the Phi Kappa Phi Honors Society. Kristin  is a Senior Speech Language Pathology major. She is from Morgantown, IN and the chapter president of the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association. She is also the student rep for SPAA in the College of Health. Kristin is a 3-time winner of the Outstanding Student of the Month in SPAA and a Kraska award winner.

Logan York is a member of the Alpha Psi Omega organization and was recognized as the 2018 Department of Theater and Dance playwright of the week. Logan is a Sophomore Theater major from West Chester, OH. He is a member of the Man Cave Society.


-Mary Beth Fehribach

Post a comment